Your Account  

Program Requirements

As previously announced, CGA Ontario is unifying with CPA Ontario and the CGA program of professional studies will end in September 2015. Final unification of the profession in Ontario will come with the introduction of a new Chartered Professional Accountants Act, which CPA Ontario will seek from the Government of Ontario as soon as possible. CGAs became members of CPA Ontario in July 2014.

The organizations are now working to integrate operations. Students in the CGA program will continue in the CGA program until September 2015, at which time those with academic requirements remaining will have the opportunity to transfer to the CPA program.

The CGA program has three requirements that must be satisfied prior to certification:

  • Academic - There are 18 courses you must successfully complete in order to satisfy the academic requirements of the CGA program.

  • Degree - A recognized post-secondary degree is required prior to certification. It is recommended that you complete your degree prior to entering the certification level.

  • Professional Experience - To fully satisfy the professional experience requirement, students must obtain a minimum of 24 months of verifiable professional level experience, including a minimum of 12 months of verifiable Canadian experience

Foundation Studies
FA1 - Financial Accounting Fundamentals
EM1 - Micro and Marco Economics
LW1 - Business Law

FA2 - Financial Accounting: Assets
QU1 - Business Quantitative Analysis
MA1 - Management Accounting Fundamentals
CM1 - Business Communication

FA3 - Financial Accounting: Liabilities and Equities
FN1 - Corporate Finance Fundamentals
MS1 - Managing Information Systems

Advanced Studies
MA2 - Advanced Management Accounting
TX1 - Personal and Corporate Taxation
AU1 - External Auditing
FA4 - Financial Accounting: Consolidations and Advanced Issues

Career Electives
(Two of the following, only one of which may be auditing)
FN2 - Advanced Corporate Finance
TX2 - Advanced Personal & Corporate Taxation
AU2 - Advanced External Auditing
MU1 - Internal Auditing & Controls
MS2 - Information Systems Strategy
PF1 - Public Sector Financial Management

Certification Level
PA1 - Issues in Professional Practice
PA2 - Strategic Financial Management