Your Account  

2014-15 Board of Directors Media Release

CGA Ontario announces its 2014-15 board of directors

Toronto, ON, June 9, 2014 –The Certified General Accountants of Ontario is pleased to announce its board of directors for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

Edward Carter, FCGA, chair of the board, received his CGA designation in 1994 and his FCGA in 2010. Edward is the manager of tax reporting at RBC Investor Services Trust. Edward has a strong record of service to CGA Ontario and extensive experience in banking, taxation and community service.

Anthony Stilo, FCGA, immediate past chair, received his CGA designation in 1991 and his FCGA in 2005. Anthony is the vice-president internal audit with Tangerine.

Ron Harvey, FCGA, vice chair, received his CGA designation in 1981 and his FCGA in 2013. Ron is the senior financial advisor and branch manager with Independent Planning Group Inc.

Elected directors of the board are:

  • Dave Anderson, CGA

  • Pierre Bocti, FCGA

  • Roseline Brennan, CGA

  • Fred Burke, FCGA

  • Johanne Charbonneau, FCGA

  • Debra Taylor, FCGA

  • Sandy Whyte, FCGA

The three public representatives to the board, appointed by the Government of Ontario are: Jane Beatty, Gilles Levasseur and Harriet Velazquez.

A self-governing body, the Certified General Accountants of Ontario grants the exclusive rights to the CGA designation, and controls the professional standards, conduct and discipline of its members and students in the province of Ontario. CGA Ontario is currently working with the Certified Management Accountants of Ontario and the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario to unify Ontario’s more than 80,000  CGAs, CMAs and CAs under the CPA designation.

– 30 –

For further information, contact:
Amy Mulhern, manager, public relations:
Telephone: 416-544-4781 / 1-800-668-1454 / Mobile: 416-606-5860